The Five Borough’s Botanical Gardens in New York City

Geographically, New York City is divided into five boroughs or districts: Manhattan, Queens, Brooklyn, Staten Island and the Bronx. Interestingly, each houses a botanical garden and deciding which is the best is an exercise we leave to experts.

But for the visitor wanting only to experience the quiet, lush beauty of the extraordinary settings no controversial decision is necessary. Simply visit them all!

Lower Central Park at 1:00 p.m. Photographer's...
Lower Central Park

1. Manhattan hosts, of course, Central Park. While not designed as a botanical garden there are nonetheless thousands of flower and tree species on display.

Carefully sculpted and landscaped in accordance with Frederick Law Olmstead‘s original master plan, the current park has seen a Renaissance in recent years and is a must-see destination. Read more »